Sept. 6, 2012

Contact: Bevin Theodore, Director of PR & Communications


800-25-PEACE, ext. 7797


KidsPeace groups help children with social skills, bullying, depression

FOUNTAIN HILL – The KidsPeace Family Center offers numerous resources to help children and teens handle emotions, sharpen their social skills and prevent bullying. Here’s a look at the groups currently available on our Broadway Campus: 

  • Social Skills for PDD/Asperger’s (teen): Geared toward middle school students, the group covers socialization, politeness, making friends and relating to peers and adults. It meets 5 p.m. Wednesdays.
  • Social Skills for PDD/Aspergers (preschool): The group covers basic social skills relating to peers and adults for children 3 to 6 years old. It meets 5 p.m. Mondays.
  • Heroes in Training: This is geared toward late elementary or middle school-aged boys who need coping skills for anger and depression. Character development is explored by looking at superheroes or personal heroes. The group meets 4 p.m. Thursdays.
  • Survival 101: This anti-bullying group targets middle school students and gives them coping skills for deflecting bullies. It meets 4:30 p.m. Tuesdays. 

All groups are held at 1650 Broadway and are run by a licensed clinician. Anyone interested in signing up a child for one of the groups should call 610-799-8600 and ask for Lauren or Fritzie. 

KidsPeace is proud to celebrate 130 years of giving hope, help and healing to children, families and communities. For more information, like our Facebook page or follow us on Twitter @KidsPeace.


About KidsPeace

Founded in 1882, KidsPeace is dedicated to serving the behavioral and mental health needs of children, preadolescents, teens and young adults, offering a comprehensive range of residential treatment programs; accredited educational services; and a variety of foster care and community-based programs to give hope, help and healing to children, families and communities. KidsPeace offers services in Georgia, Indiana, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, Nevada, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Virginia and the District of Columbia.